

THE DEFENDERS OF BATAAN, CORREGIDOR, AND ATTU CONGRESSIONAL GOLD MEDAL ACT

Background:

The Defenders of Bataan, Corregidor, and Attu Congressional Gold Medal Act is a bipartisan and bicameral bill that collectively awards a Congressional Gold Medal to individuals who fought for or with the United States in the early resistance and defensive battles against the armed forces of Imperial Japan in the Pacific Theater, and to the impacted Saskinax people on Attu from December 8, 1941, to August 15, 1945. The troops and Saskinax people endured one of the most harrowing prisoner-of-war experiences in history, including the infamous Bataan Death March.

It is past time to recognize the United States defenders of Bataan, Corregidor, Attu, and other sites throughout the Pacific who were ordinary individuals who found uncommon courage in extraordinary circumstances.

118th Congress Cosponsors:

The Defenders of Bataan, Corregidor, and Attu Congressional Gold Medal Act is cosponsored by U.S. Senators Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawai'i), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Maria Cantwell (D-Nev.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Angus King (I-Vt). Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), and Mark Warner (D-Va.).

Endorsing Organizations:

The Defenders of Bataan, Corregidor, and Attu Congressional Gold Medal Act is endorsed by the American Defenders of Bataan and Corregidor Memorial Society, the New Mexico National Guard, the Bataan-Corregidor Memorial Foundation of New Mexico, and Attu Forever.