CONGRESS OF THE UNITED STATES

DELEGATION OFFICE STATE OF NEW MEXICO HART SENATE OFFICE BUILDING WASHINGTON, D.C. 20510

June 14, 2024

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg Secretary U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE Washington, DC 20590

RE: Department of Transportation, Federal Railroad Administration, Consolidated Rail Infrastructure and Safety Improvements (CRISI) Program, (FR-CRS-24-001), Four Corners Freight Rail

Dear Secretary Buttigieg,

Members of the New Mexico Delegation write in support of the New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT) and the Navajo Nation's application to the Department of Transportation Federal Railroad Administration's CRISI Program. The Four Corners Freight Rail Project will significantly enhance freight transportation infrastructure in the region, improving efficiency and safety while promoting economic development.

If awarded, the Four Corners Freight Rail Project will implement the development phase of this project, including preliminary engineering, detailed project cost estimates, and required documentation to support a National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) decision. This phase will prepare the project for final design and construction in subsequent funding requests. By constructing and upgrading critical rail infrastructure, this project will address current logistical bottlenecks and provide more reliable and efficient transportation options for freight. It will

support regional industries, reduce transportation costs, and foster economic growth across New Mexico and neighboring states. Additionally, it will strengthen the economic well-being of the historically disadvantaged Four Corners Region, including supporting new economic development opportunities for the Navajo Nation and surrounding communities.

We support the Four Corners Freight Rail's proposal and request that you give their application full consideration under your agency's guidelines. Please notify us when a decision has been made regarding this application.

Sincerely,

Martin Heinrich

United States Senator

Ben Ray Lujan

United States Senator

Melanie Stansbury

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernández

Member of Congress